People

Timothy D. Baird Assistant Professor Human/environment interactions, East Africa, information and communication technologies, sustainability.
John Boyer Senior Instructor World regions, viticulture, geography of wine, agricultural geography, educational technology.
Anamaria Bukvic Research Assistant Professor Climate change impacts, adaptation, and disaster risk reduction; population displacement, resettlement, and relocation; coastal hazards and disasters, transdisciplinary research
James B. Campbell Professor Remote sensing, soils and geomorphology, quantitative methods.
David Carroll Instructor Meteorology, forecasting, severe weather.
Laurence W. Carstensen Jr. Professor GIS, cartography, wireless telecommunications modeling, unmanned vehicle navigation, GIS uncertainty, spatial decision-support in GIS.
Thomas W. Crawford (Tom) Professor and Department Chair Geographic Information Science & Systems, Coastal Geography, Human-Environment Interactions, Hazards, Geospatial Health Applications.
Andrew W. Ellis Associate Professor Meteorology, hydroclimatology, drought, climate change, water resources.
Luke Juran Assistant Professor

Human Ecology of Water,  WASH & HWTS,  Hazards & Disasters,  Reconstruction,  Coastal Issues,  South Asia, Mixed Methods

Lisa M. Kennedy Associate Professor Biogeography, Paleoenvironments, Vegetation dynamics, Dendrochronology, Human-environment interaction, Caribbean, Neotropics, Southern Appalachians, southeastern U.S.
Korine N. Kolivras Associate Professor
Medical geography, climate and health, climatology.
Robert Oliver Associate Professor

The Geography of the Modern City, Urban-Political Geography, Mega-Event Planning and Politics (Sport Development)

Lynn M. Resler Associate Professor
Biogeography, alpine treeline, mountain environments, field methods, digital image analysis.
Stewart Scales Instructor Physical Geography, Appalachia, Biogeography, Pyrogeography & Fire Ecology
Peter Sforza Instructor Remote sensing, geospatial informatics, biosecurity, epidemiology, scientific visualization and virtual reality environments, weather and climate.
Yang Shao Associate Professor Remote sensing, GIS, land use and land cover change, watershed assessment and modeling.
Kenneth L. Stiles Instructor Intelligence Operations, Counterterrorism , Geospatial applications used in the Intelligence Community
Stephanie Zick Assistant Professor Tropical meteorology, tropical cyclones, precipitation, numerical weather prediction, shape analysis

 

Stacy Boyer Instructor
Infectious Diseases, Refugee/Immigrant Health, Global Health and Development, HIV/AIDS in the Caribbean, Gender and Poverty Issues.
Maria Elisa Christie Program Director
Women in International Development at the Office of International Research, Education and Development (OIRED)
Gender, Agriculture, and Development, Feminist Political Ecology, Cultural Ecology, Geography of Food, Cuisine, and Kitchenspace.
Randel L. Dymond Associate Professor
Environmental and Water Resources Engineering
Sustainable Land Development, Urban Stormwater Quality & Quantity, AutoCAD Civil 3D, Geographic Information Systems (GIS), Spatial Decision Support Systems, Watershed Management, Civil Infrastructure Systems, Land Use Change Impacts, and Visualization of Geospatial data.
Charles M. Good Emeritus Professor
Medical, Africa, Third World Development, Immigration.
Lawrence S. Grossman Emeritus Professor
Caribbean, development, political ecology, colonial environmental history.
Robert W. Morrill Emeritus Professor
Geographic education, North America, political.
Bonham C. Richardson Emeritus Professor
Historical, Caribbean, human ecology.
Joseph L. Scarpaci Emeritus Professor
Latin American Studies, International Development, Place Promotion, Heritage, International & social marketing.

 

Karen Bland kbland@vt.edu Administrative assistant.
Katherine Pritchard kpritcha@vt.edu
Instructional technical assistant for John Boyer.
Maureen Deisinger mdeising@vt.edu Student Services Coordinator and Undergraduate Adviser.

 

 

Sanam Kumar Aksha PHD GAEA sanam7@vt.edu
Amy Marion Blood PHD GAEA ablood@vt.edu
Katherine Correll Britt PHD GAEA kcorrell@vt.edu
Iris Ekua Mensimah Fynn PHD GAEA irisfynn@vt.edu
Michael William Graham PHD GAEA mwgraham@vt.edu
Carrie Killeen Jensen PHD GAEA ckjensen@vt.edu
David Aaron Jensen PHD GAEA ajdavid6@vt.edu
Scott D Klopfer PHD GAEA sklopfer@vt.edu
Allison Renee Le Blanc PHD GAEA lalli86@vt.edu
Michael Lee Marston PHD GAEA mlm92@vt.edu
Erin Elizabeth Poor PHD GAEA erinpoor@vt.edu
Hoa Thi Tran PHD GAEA hoatran@vt.edu
Heng Wan PHD GAEA heng@vt.edu
Elizabeth Ann Weaver PHD GAEA weaverea@vt.edu
Shreejana Bhattarai MS GEOG bshreej@vt.edu
David Nathan Fox MS GEOG fxdavid5@vt.edu
Timothy Robert Greene MS GEOG greenet3@vt.edu
Jessica Lynn Kirkland MS GEOG jkirk224@vt.edu
Callie Brooke Lambert MS GEOG lambertc@vt.edu
Nathaniel Jo-Walker Lawrence MS GEOG nate1989@vt.edu
Suzanna Alison Lindeman MS GEOG sal94@vt.edu
Taylor Brooks Meade MS GEOG mtaylor5@vt.edu
Erik Johan Olson MS GEOG erikjo7@vt.edu
Breeanna Carroll Prince MS GEOG breecp7@vt.edu
Chance Holden Raso MS GEOG rasoc03@vt.edu
Julia Caroline Sherry MS GEOG jcsherry@vt.edu
James Andrew Skeen MS GEOG jaskeen@vt.edu
Kaitlyn Anita Spangler MS GEOG kaitlyns@vt.edu
Logan Kain Stevens MS GEOG lks12@vt.edu
Jessica Marie Suggs MS GEOG jesss93@vt.edu
Yanshen Sun MS GEOG yansh93@vt.edu
Ruoyu Zhang MS GEOG ruoyu1@vt.edu